About

Photo by Heather Cassils and Robin Black Courtesy Ronald Feldman Fine Arts, New York.

EDGY 2013 : 20th ANNIVERSARY ART/ SPORTS/GENDER

The 20th anniversary of the Edgy Women festival in March 2013 will have a sports and gender theme involving three major events intertwining the worlds of art and athletics: a lucha libre wrestling match scripted by artist/wrestling club co-director Marijs Boulogne; a participatory hockey game with creative rules orchestrated by Meg Hewings, General Manager of the Montreal Stars, writer, video artist and self-proclaimed “art-jock”; and a collaborative performance event taking place at the Blue Cat Boxing Club. In addition, this project will include a colloquium (in collaboration with U-Pop and various universities), and two bloggers (an Anglophone and a Francophone) and a vlogger will reflect on the residency and issues raised.

More info about the theme

This idea for this arts and athletics theme emerged gradually, around a few key incidences. Years ago, a women’s boxing tournament was held at the Sala Rossa, a popular cabaret venue. It was fascinating to see a sporting event lit by chandeliers, and this powerful experience triggered reflections about the nature of spectacle and the role of context. A seed was planted when Phil Dickinson, the organiser, later opened the Blue Cat Boxing Club and expressed an interest in hosting art events. At the 2011 edition of Edgy Women, Karen Sherman created a performance intervention on a public ice rink, in response to the extremely gendered representation of female bodies in women’s hockey and roller derby. The process spawned a great deal of conversation about sports, gender, community and art. There was a clear desire to further the investigation. Recent conversations with artists Marijs Boulogne and Heather Cassils, revealed their passion for their parallel athletic careers, and a visit to the atmospheric Blue Cat Boxing Club with its vast 4000 square foot area with punching bags and a ring, and intimate adjoining rooms, sealed the deal!

We live in a world that promotes a rhetorical opposition between art (sensitivity/subculture/femininity) and sports (strength/mainstream/masculinity). Both worlds harbor interesting and complex gender dynamics – particularly in terms of visibility and representation, competition and collaboration. Athletic culture offers a rich terrain for exploration in gender studies, about which much has been written, and there seems to be a growing interest to explore these issues through performance among the artists Studio 303 is invested in.

About Studio 303
Studio 303 exists to promote the evolution of live artistic practices. Concentrating on the physical body, Studio 303 is a unique resource centre which offers cutting edge workshops, innovative administrative services and a flexible, intimate studio laboratory where new works may be created and presented. Studio 303’s programming aims to stimulate enriching exchanges between a variety of artists, art forms and the public.

PRESS KIT
Click herePresskit_Edgy13_en_web

PRESS RELEASES
Press release #1 (announcing the festival): click here
Press release #2 (detailed programming): click here.

À propos

Photo par Heather Cassils et Robin Black Courtesy Ronald Feldman Fine Arts, New York.

EDGY 2013 : 20ème anniversaire ART/ SPORT/GENRE

En mars 2013, le 20e anniversaire du festival Edgy Women présentera trois événements majeurs où s’entrechoqueront les univers de l’art, du sport et du genre. Seront présentés un match de Lucha libre mis en scène par l’artiste et co-directrice du club : Marijs Boulogne; une partie de Hockey féministe avec un règlement plutôt créatif orchestré par Meg Hewings : directrice générale des Stars de Montréal, écrivaine et artiste multimédias, un événement regroupant plusieurs collaborations artistiques dans un Club de boxe appelé le Club de boxe Chat bleu. En outre, ce projet comprendra également un colloque (en collaboration avec U-Pop et diverses universités), deux blogueurs (un anglophone et un francophone) et un vlogger qui se pencheront sur les questions soulevées pendant la résidence.

Un peu plus sur le thème
L’idée de ce thème sur les arts et les sports a émergé progressivement autour de divers questionnements et concours de circonstances. Il y a quelques années, un tournoi féminin de boxe a eu lieu à la Sala Rossa, une salle populaire de spectacle/cabaret. C’était tellement fascinant de voir un événement sportif éclairé par des lustres que cette expérience puissante a déclenché des réflexions sur la nature même du spectacle sportif et le rôle du contexte dans lequel il est présenté. Le projet était lancé lorsque l’organisateur de cet événement : Phil Dickinson a ensuite ouvert le Club de boxe Chat bleu en exprimant le souhait d’y accueillir des événements artistiques. Par la suite, lors de l’édition 2011 du festival Edgy Women, Karen Sherman a créé une performance sur une patinoire publique, en réponse à la représentation extrêmement sexuée du corps de la femme pour les disciplines du hockey et du roller derby féminin. Cette oeuvre avait engendré beaucoup de réflexions sur les questions du genre dans les monde du sport et de l’art. De plus, des échanges stimulants avec les artistes Marijs Boulogne et Heather Cassils révélant leur passion pour leur carrière sportive ainsi qu’une visite dans l’ambiance du Club de boxe Chat bleu avec ses quelques 4000 pieds carrés, ses sacs de boxe, son ring et ses trois pièces intimistes avaient scellé l’affaire!

La société dans laquelle nous vivons créé des oppositions rhétoriques entre l’art (symbole de sensibilité, culture minoritaire et féminité) et les sports (symbole de force, culture dominante et masculinité). Ces deux univers abritent une dynamique des sexes/genres intéressante et complexe – notamment en termes de visibilité et de représentation d’un côté et de concurrence et de collaboration de l’autre. La culture sportive offre un riche terrain d’exploration aux études de genre, à propos desquelles beaucoup ont déjà écrit. Il semble alors y avoir un intérêt croissant à explorer ces enjeux notamment à travers des performance s réalisées par les artistes du Studio 303.

À propos du Studio 303
Fondé en juillet 1989, le Studio 303 est un centre multidisciplinaire voué au développement de la danse contemporaine et des pratiques indisciplinées. Au service des artistes de l’art actuel, il offre une foule d’activités de formation, de résidences de création, de diffusion et de production.

DOSSIER DE PRESSE
Téléchargeable ici

COMMUNIQUÉS DE PRESSE
Communiqué de presse #1 (annonce du festival) : cliquez ici.
Communiqué de presse #2 (programmation détaillée) : cliquez ici.