ALL NUIT LONG

Saturday March 2nd – 9:00 p.m. – 3:00 a.m. @ Studio 303 – FREE!

This year, the Nuit Blanche will mark our festival’s debut, with an interactive photo booth with photographer Nikol Mikus and a series of short films that explore both entertaining and critical stereotypes of athletics and sport. www.nikolmikus.com

In the office : Interactive photo booth with sports-themed costumes, booze and foosball!
In the Studio : bar and movies ALL NUIT LONG, curated by Andréann Cossette.

Three 30-40 minute programmes presented 3 times each, including shorts from the 2012 programming of our sister festival in France, Désordres.rencontresfeministes.over-blog.org

Film Schedule:

Programme 1: Sport and sexxx  at 9 p.m – 11 p.m – 1 a.m

Pleasure Zone – Dayna Mcload

Triple Axxxel – Lamathilde

Programme 2: Girls kick it  at 9:40 p.m – 11:40 p.m – 1:40 a.m

High Heels on Wheels – Donna Cassyd & Leslie Sloan

Hockey Dyke in CA – Lamathilde

Piton - André Guiomar

Programme 3: Corps poétiques  at 10:25 p.m – 12:25 p.m – 2:25 a.m

Unter der schönen Haut – Anna D. Ortuño / Les Filles Föllen

Extract from Corps de femme – Variation #1 – Mabel Octobre

Etrangère – Christophe Hermans

DAYNA MCLEOD * THE PLEASURE ZONE *

Through video and performance media, Montreal artist Dayna McLeod seeks to deconstruct and dissect common stereotypes around feminism, homophobia and gender through a healthy mix of irony, humour and sex toys. The Pleasure Zone is a criticism of the pornography industry, but structured as a basketball game. McLeod’s work has been shown in Europe, North America, South America and Asia. daynarama.com

LAMATHILDE * TRIPLE AXXXEL + HOCKEY DYKE IN CANADA*

Hockey Dyke in Canada is funny testimony about the place of ice hockey in the life of two women and on the place of the women in ice hockey here, in Canada. The second film, Triple Axxxel : Quintessence du corps cliché is a work from Montreal-based, French-Canadian video artist and performer Lamathilde. After studying cinema and receiving his MA in linguistics, Lamathilde returned to her first loves: image and sound. Here, we are introduced to an unusual world of skating. www.lamathilde.com

MABEL OCTOBRE *CORPS DE FEMME* - VARIATION #1 (extract)

This movie is the result of a writing and video workshop done with artists and sporty women from all horizons. Inès de Luna, who presents the first sequence, Combats en règle, propose a sensitive parallel between bodies that struggle to open and live in a squat and bodies who dance for the pleasure of being.

CHRISTOPHE HERMANS / ETRANGERE

Sophie is alone. She shares its life between odd jobs and her move. To fill up this space, Sophie sculpts her body.

ANNA D. ORTUNO/ LES FILLES FOLLEN / UNTER DER SCHÖNEN HAUT

Unter der schönen Haut brings the concepts of soccer and dance within the framework of the movement, from the reference of FC Barcelona football team. Through observation and imitation, the movement no longer belongs to any of the two disciplines because it is out of context. Form, rhythm and musicality are the axes that allow to extract parallelism between the movements made by football players and original choreography built for two girl players: two dancers. The dancers plays and fights together until the last moment: the goal.

DONNA CASSYD & LESLIE SLOAN / HIGH HEELS ON WHEELS

They were fast and fireless. Ice skaters of roller-derby recollect the role that played their favorite sports for their coming-out and their wish to have a ball.

ANDRÉ GUIOMAR / PITON

“In boxing, the duality between the violence of a confrontation and moving human body in perfect harmony with the mind makes a fight look like a choreographed dance. In this Black and White documentary about the boxer Juliana Rocha, known as Python, it is intended to demonstrate the prospect of a violent sport practiced by a women boxer. Through interviews with the coach and the father we tell her story and motivations. Following one of the matches, we document the magnitude of a sport practiced by woman, in its fullness”.

Photo : copyright Dayna McLeod / The Pleasure Zone

ALL NUIT LONG

Samedi 2 mars – 21h – 3h @ Studio 303 GRATUIT!

Cette année, la Nuit blanche marquera le début du festival, avec l’installation d’un photomaton, realisé par le photographe Nikol Mikus et une série de courts-métrages ludiques et critiques autour des stéréotypes propres au monde du sport. www.nikolmikus.com

Programme 1 : Sport and sexxx 21h05 – 23h05 – 1h05
Pleasure Zone – Dayna Mcload
Triple Axxxel – Lamathilde

Programme 2 : Girls kick it 21h40 – 23h40 – 01h40
High Heels on Wheels – Donna Cassyd & Leslie Sloan
Hockey Dyke in CA – Lamatilde
Piton – André Guiomar

Programme 3 : Corps poétiques / athletic bodies 22h25 – 12h25 – 02h25
Under the Beautiful Skin (Unter der schönen Haut) – Anna D. Ortuño / Les Filles Föllen
Ortuño / Les Filles Föllen
Extrait de Corps de femme – Variation #1 – Mabel Octobre
Etrangère – Christophe Hermans

DAYNA MCLEOD * THE PLEASURE ZONE *
Par les médias de la vidéo et de la performance, Dayna McLeod s’emploie à déconstruire et à disséquer les stéréotypes relatifs au féminisme, à l’homophobie et aux genres en utilisant ironie, gadgets érotiques et humour. The Pleasure Zone est une critique de l’industrie pornographique, structurée comme un match de basketball. www.daynarama.com

LAMATHILDE * TRIPLE AXXXEL + HOCKEY DYKE IN CANADA*
Hockey Dyke in Canada est un témoignage ludique sur la place du hockey dans la vie de deux femmes et sur la place des femmes dans le hockey au Canada. Lamathilde(est une artiste de vidéo-performance-son, franco- canadienne qui vit et travaille à Montréal. Après des études de cinéma, une maîtrise en linguistique, Lamathilde retourne à ses premiers amours : l’image et le son. Son second film, Triple Axxxel : Quintessence du corps cliché est une introduction aux relations entre le genre et le milieu du patinage. www.lamathilde.com

MABEL OCTOBRE *CORPS DE FEMME* – VARIATION #1 (extract)
Ce film est le résultat d’un atelier d’écriture et de vidéo avec des artistes et sportives de tous horizons. Inès de Luna, qui présente la première séquence du film, Combats en règle, propose un parallèle entre les corps en lutte pour l’ouverture et la vie dans un squat et les corps qui dansent, pour le plaisir de sentir.

CHRISTOPHE HERMANS *ETRANGERE *
Sophie est seule. Elle partage sa vie entre des petits boulots et son déménagement. Pour combler ce vide, Sophie sculpte son corps.

ANNA D. ORTUNO/ LES FILLES FOLLEN *UNDER THE BEAUTIFUL SKIN (UNTER DER SCHONENE HAUT)*
En référence à l’équipe de football FC Barcelone, Unter der schönen Haut explore les concepts du football et de la danse. À travers l’observation et l’imitation, le mouvement n’appartient plus à aucune des deux disciplines parce qu’il est hors du contexte. La forme, le rythme et la musicalité sont les axes permettant de dresser un parallèle entre les mouvements exécutés par les joueurs de football et une chorégraphie originale créée par deux joueuses : deux danseuses. Les danseuses jouent et luttent ensemble jusqu’au dernier moment : le but.

ANDRÉ GUIOMAR *PITON*
« Dans la boxe, la dualité entre la violence d’une confrontation et le mouvement du corps humain en harmonie parfaite avec l’esprit permet de dresser un parallèle entre un combat et une danse chorégraphiée. Dans ce documentaire en noir et blanc sur la boxeuse Juliana Rocha, connue comme le Python, on cherche à démontrer les perspectives d’un sport violent pratiqué par une boxeuse. Par le biais d’entrevues avec l’entraîneur et son père nous racontons son histoire et ses motivations. À la suite d’un match, nous percevons toute l’ampleur d’un sport pratiqué par une femme ».

DONNA CASSYD & LESLIE SLOAN *HIGH HEELS ON WHEELS*
Elles étaient rapides et n’avaient pas froid aux yeux. Des patineuses de roller-derby se remémorent le rôle qu’a joué leur sport favori dans leur coming-out et leur désir de s’amuser.